Yoga Pretzels by Barefoot Books Review



Affiliate links are used on this site. Your purchases help to support my site and family by giving me a small referral fee. For full details read my disclosures HERE.

Posted on Nov 16 2013 - 1:00am by Jill
Next Post
Previous Post

It can be hard as a homeschooler to remember that we need to do exercise and mark off that box for physical education, the dreaded P.E.  With this product, Yoga Pretzels by Barefoot Books, our P.E. time is now fun!

Yoga Pretzels by Barefoot Books Review - Enchanted Homeschooling Mom

Before I get any further into this review and giveaway I would like to say that I was given a free copy of Yoga Pretzels by Barefoot Books to assist in this review.  For full details read my disclosures found HERE.

Yoga Pretzels by Barefoot Books Review - Enchanted Homeschooling Mom

So, what is Yoga Pretzels you might be wondering?  In summary, Yoga Pretzels by Barefoot Books is a family themed yoga activity that is designed to help children learn, practice, and use yoga.  It helps you to stretch your way to a fun and healthy lifestyle through the use of 50 specially chosen yoga posses.  Each pose is provided in a colorful deck of cards that is oversized, easy to handle, easy to ready, and very durable.  Included in the durable card deck are yoga posses including forward bends, backward bends, partner poses, and balance poses.  These poses were all selected for families, children, teachers, and parents by Tara Guber of Yoga Ed.

Here are what the cards themselves look like:

Yoga Pretzels by Barefoot Books Review - Enchanted Homeschooling Mom

As part of our homeschooling routine we do physical education.  One of Beck and Elizabeth’s favorite P.E. activities is yoga.  We have used books, DVDs, and TV shows before, but Yoga Pretzels by Barefoot Books is by far one of the better products that we have used.  Each card has a visual picture to mimic and then easy to use instructions on how to do the pose properly.  This is great because the children and I have been able to get into the poses on our own using the direction on the cards without having to know the pose immediately before going to the next one or scrambling to hit the pause or rewind button as we watch the instructor get into a pose then try as hard as we can to mimic them.  With the Yoga Pretzels cards I can now help the children (and myself) into the poses and can develop the skills to master them on our own with time.

Here is Beck trying to get into the tree pose:

Yoga Pretzels by Barefoot Books Review - Enchanted Homeschooling Mom

Here is Elizabeth trying to get into the elephant breath pose:

Yoga Pretzels by Barefoot Books Review - Enchanted Homeschooling Mom

Overall I think that Yoga Pretzels by Barefoot Books is a great way to learn yoga, and for under $15 it is also a great find and the perfect gift this holiday season.   Hopefully, through the practice of our new yoga poses we can all get a little more exercise and stretching in.  Now the challenge will be to get my hubby to try yoga too once his back is better.

Barefoot Books also offers great additional resources for to accompany some of the book they sell. You can find songs, crafts, and lessons HERE. For those of you who are still looking for some great holiday gifts you can check out what Barefoot Books has to offer in their gift guide found HERE.

 

Would You Like To Win a Copy For Yourself?

As a bonus for readers of Enchanted Homeschooling Mom, Barefoot Books has graciously offered to allow me to host a giveaway for one of my lucky readers to win a $25.00 Barefoot Books Gift Certificate!  E.H.M. will provide the winner’s information to Barefoot Books and they will contact the winner to get them their prize.

By entering this giveaway you are also acknowledging that you have read and agree to all of my disclosures.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Also, in case you do not win the gift certificate, Barefoot Books has also gracious allowed me to offer my readers a special discount code of TWENTY13 to get 20% off their entire order and if the entire order is over $60 shipping will also be free (to USA and Canada) until Christmas.

Thank you for taking the time to read my review of the Yoga Pretzels.

 

Enchanted Homeschooling Mom Storybook ActivitiesEnchanted Homeschooling Mom Arts and CraftsEnchanted Homeschooling Mom Motor Skills Activities Enchanted Homeschooling Mom Sensory Learning Activities