Arithmetic Village Review

Posted on Aug 23 2013 - 1:00am by Jill R. (EnchantedHomeschoolingMom)

Today is Day 5 in the How Do I Teach…series.  As everyone coming from the How Do You Teach Series knows, math is not my favorite subject.  I would like to close-out the 5-day series with a review of a product that I really enjoyed using and think definitely helped me teach math in a fun and special way.

This post is a product review. I was given a free copy of the PDF versions of the books to assist in this review.  For full details read my disclosures found HERE.

Arithmetic Village Review

When I first stumbled upon Arithmetic Village by Kimberly Moore I was excited to see great art work being used in story books to teach the basics of math.  There are five books in the series that focus the reader on counting, adding, subtraction, multiplication, and division.  All the books are themed into a medieval setting of a royal village, hence the clever name, Arithmetic Village. A quick over view of the books is as follows:

Counting: The counting book introduces the readers to the gems and people of Arithmetic Village.  It teaches the reader how to group gems into groups of ten and then how to count the groups in a unique and fun way.

Addition: The addition book follows the adventures of Polly Plus as she travels through Arithmetic Village on her jewel finding adventure, adding more and more gems to her basket as she goes along.

Subtraction: The subtraction book follows the adventures of Linus minus as he ‘looses’ gems on his adventures around and through and all over Arithmetic Village.

Multiplication: The multiplication book follows the adventures of Tina Times as she journeys through Arithmetic Village learning to multiple by counting her jewels in groups.

Division: The division book follows the adventures of King David Divide as he wanders through the kingdom, sharing his jewels by dividing them up.  And the cutest part is that he gives all the extras to his pet Rover.

 

The books come in two versions: Downloadable PDFs that you have to put together or physical books.  To save cost and create an art project for my daughter Elizabeth and myself I would have chosen the PDF versions and printed them myself, but I was given a copy of the PDF version for the purposes of this review.  The first step in the PDF books is to make them. The author recommends sewing the books together at the spine, so I had Elizabeth help pick appropriate yarn and we set out to assemble the books.  Here are the supplies and tools we used for Polly Plus:

Arithmetic Village Review

With each book I order them as the direction said to, cut them, and stapled the outer edges together to make the book.  Then I used a small hole-punch to make holes in the spine to thread yarn through.  Elizabeth picked a different yarn color for each book.  Here is Elizabeth sewing the spine of the Linus Minus book.  She was having a blast making the books..

Arithmetic Village Review

And here is the Linus Minus and Polly Plus books assembled and ready to learn from:

Arithmetic Village Review

Then, it was off to read the books.  Elizabeth already knows some math, but she would not put down the Linus Minus book once she assembled it.  Here you can see her reading it right after making it (she has fallen asleep reading this storybook every night for the past week!):

Arithmetic Village Review

So far I have only discussed the wonderful books included in the Arithmetic Village math program.  That is because they are the text book to the program.  Each book teaches the core math skill and then the author has provided lesson outlines and resources on her website to help you bring the story alive and ‘play’ while learning math.  Since math is not my favorite subject to teach, it was a welcome experience to be able to have the math presented in a fun way to begin with.  The resources can be found on the Arithmetic Village website in the subject areas under the clickable link for Activities.  Each book has a section on Teach, Become, Create, Live, and Watch.  All of these areas are full of resources to help bring the books and math lessons to life.

Since Elizabeth really liked Linus Minus, here she is using the worksheet for Linus Minus.  She decided to use her counting bears instead of jewels (since her jewels at the time were hidden away from her older brother), but you can use anything to represent your jewels.

Arithmetic Village Review

Then, to further reinforce the Linus Minus lessons I created a quick game to play based on the Linus Minus Create resource page.  I had Beck and Elizabeth pick a different color each of counting bears.  I handed them each a pile and they counted the pile up to get their starting number.  Then, I had them run around holding their bears and as they ran around some of their bears would fall out just like in the story.  Then, I called stop and they each had to count the number of bears they had remaining in their hands.  They both seemed to have a blast doing this fun math hands-on activity, so much so that I tried to get a photo or two to share, but we were all having too much fun learning.

To finish out the Linus Minus activity we played a few rounds of the live games suggested on the Linus Minus Live resource page while we went through out our day cooking, cleaning, playing toys, and playing with the dogs.  It was fun hearing Beck and Elizabeth practicing the Linus Minus activities.

Overall, Arithmetic Village by Kimberly Moore is a great, hands-on, real world based, creative, and fun way to teach the basics of math, even for someone like me who admits to not liking math.  I would highly suggest taking a look at the Arithmetic Village website and seeing for yourself if it meets the needs of fun math for you.

Would You Like To Win a Copy For Yourself?

As a bonus for readers of Enchanted Homeschooling Mom, Arithmetic Village has graciously offered to allow me to host a giveaway for one of my lucky readers to win a free set of the PDF versions of the books, valued at $10.99.  Please enter below if you would like to win this giveaway:

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Thank you for taking the time to read my review of Arithmetic Village by Kimberly Moore and I hope that this conclusion to the How Do I Teach Math When I Don’t Like Math 5-Day Series helps you in some way find a fun and creative way to teach math if you are like and do not enjoy math.

 

How Do I Teach .. 5 Day Blog Series

How Do I Teach … 5 Day Blog Series is brought to you by the following blogs:

Enchanted Homeschooling Mom ~ Homeschool Gameschool ~ Are We There Yet? ~ Life with Moore Babies ~ No Doubt Learning ~ Mrs. Redd’s Classroom Blog ~ Proverbial Homemaker ~ My Joy Filled Life ~ Preschool Powol Packets ~ Adventures in Mommydom ~ Vicki Arnold ~ Only Passionate Curiosity ~ Living Life and Learning ~ Farm Fresh Adventures ~ 3 Dinosaurs ~ Monsters Ed Homeschooling Academy ~ Life and Lessons from a country road ~ For This Season

 

 

Post end
The following two tabs change content below.
Jill runs "24 Paw Ranch" which is home to her husband, her two children, and their five dogs and of course herself. She spends her days actively homeschooling, baking in her kitchen, consuming loads of coffee, creating printables, watching Disney movies, crafting her way through the day, and occasionally getting more than 6 hours of sleep.

Latest posts by Jill R. (EnchantedHomeschoolingMom) (see all)

16 Comments so far. Feel free to join this conversation.

  1. holly August 23, 2013 at 6:09 am - Reply

    Polly Plus…we are just getting started. :)

  2. ericaleigh76 August 23, 2013 at 6:25 am - Reply

    What a great find! My dd will love this!

  3. Jennifer C August 23, 2013 at 6:38 am - Reply

    We are learning addition right now, so I think Polly Plus looks interesting. Thanks!

  4. tammy cordery August 23, 2013 at 10:24 am - Reply

    It looks like a good site

  5. chiana August 23, 2013 at 12:05 pm - Reply

    My artsy daughter would love Tina Times.

  6. Timmi August 23, 2013 at 12:12 pm - Reply

    Tina Times would be fantastic right now, my oldest really wants to learn to multiply but right now we are stuck on caring numbers with addition, maybe a break from it and Tina Times is what she needs

  7. Kathrine August 24, 2013 at 12:29 am - Reply

    Sounds fun!

  8. Kathrine August 24, 2013 at 12:31 am - Reply

    Tina Times for us.

  9. Sandra August 26, 2013 at 4:44 pm - Reply

    Polly Plus!

  10. Roxanna Alcantra August 26, 2013 at 4:53 pm - Reply

    Polly Plus because we are just starting addition. Looks like fun!

  11. Wendy Pierce August 26, 2013 at 8:05 pm - Reply

    I have been looking at these books for awhile and am excited about all of them. My children I think would most interested in King David Divide…being as they are boys and he's a king and all.

  12. Jenny K. August 26, 2013 at 10:16 pm - Reply

    My 6yr. dd would love the Linus Minus The 8yr. dd would love the Tina Times book. They all look like great fun!

  13. Amy August 27, 2013 at 1:16 pm - Reply

    They're all super cute, but probably Polly Plus first

  14. Jeni G August 29, 2013 at 6:13 am - Reply

    I've been eyeing these books for my kids! They look like so much fun! We'd especially like Tina Times, since my oldest is ready for multiplication.

  15. Becky August 30, 2013 at 4:05 am - Reply

    What a cute idea. Linus Minus would be a good start for us.

  16. Celi September 1, 2013 at 8:20 pm - Reply

    We would love these!

Leave A Response

CommentLuv badge